Saturday, April 16

I actually got myself out of bed early enough to go to SOU’s Poetry Festival this morning! (Ashland, 9 a.m.)  Billed as “Collaboration: Lawson Inada & Friends,” it was way better than I expected. Very motivating. Wrote a poem and got tons of new ideas, including one that left me feeling I’d struck gold. Rick Barot, talking about what is a poem, said that content is cheap without the vessel. A good poem results from skillfully shaping the content with images that make the content accessible and alive. I see that I need to be a more serious student of the craft.

About Carol Foreman Brockfield

Poet in Medford, Oregon
This entry was posted in What's New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

